Know Your candidates: District 1 Congressional Race

There are five total candidates in the primary election for the 1st Congressional District of California, including the incumbent, Republican Doug LaMalfa, and the democratic candidate who ran against him in 2018, Audrey Denney.

The 1st Congressional District makes up most of the northeastern, inland territory of the state, including all of Butte, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou and Tehama counties, as well as portions of Glenn, Nevada and Placer counties.

The top two vote-getters in the March primary will go on to the regular election in November. Last year, LaMalfa received 54.9% of the vote and Denney received 45.1%.

Read the full article from the ChicoER here.

[Photo by: Damon Arthur -- Redding Record-Searchlight]